Another Look at Albert Camus

Another Look at Albert Camus

The New Republic has taken another look at French philosopher, writer and all-around maestro of the literary arts. One of his books has been recently translated into English, and since everyone who reads the New Republic is at least cordially acquainted with the guy I suppose the staff decided that there was no time like the present to chat about him. Book chat is a marvelous thing.

I give the article props for finally tracking down, in the book, and relating to the readers Camus at his most quotable.

What Camus actually said, in any case, was sharp enough. He told the students: “People are now planting bombs in the tramways of Algiers. My mother might be on one of those tramways. If that is justice, then I prefer my mother.”

I hope you enjoy the read.

One thought on “Another Look at Albert Camus

  1. Very good stuff. Embarrassingly, I don’t know much about Camus’ Algerian journalism days. I must remedy that.

    Oh, and it is not difficult to find Camus at his most quotable lol. The guy was full of gems. My favorite: “(…) and to state quite simply what we learn in time of pestilence: that there are more things to admire in men than to despise.”

    Cheers

Leave a Reply

