I, Claudius and Other Tidbits

I recently picked up I, Claudius and Claudius the God. I also picked up a few law books but those, I’m afraid, are dramatically less interesting than these two companies. Few books are quite as entertaining. For those who are not as familiar with the books, and truthfully they are a bit obscure on this side of the Atlantic, they detail the life of the Roman Emperor Claudius. The books delight not only because Robert Graves, the author, is an excellent house guest but because of the historical research that went into writing the books. The fluidity of the novel disguises the accuracy of his work in constructing a character that is historically faithful even if some of the rougher edges are shined to a glowing burnish.

If you, dear reader, or those of you still left who are interested in the decline of original quality and quantity on this blog, are worried then don’t be. I am merely going through the hollow motions of becoming an attorney. It is a long process and arguably a difficult one. But it does not affect my mental health terribly. For the foreseeable future I hope you are entertained with the images and links, perhaps with the odd video thrown in, as I get my feet underneath me. Adjusting to a new schedule takes time and until I do there will be less effusive postings so characteristically filled with the type of rambling (vomiting? useless?) thought that populates these pages.

Before I go, however, I want to touch on two things.

First, it seems that I am not alone in scribbling in the margins of the books that I read. I’m not sure why I do it but I do. The true gems of my library have a twin in the marginalia of their bindings. This twin is uglier, more deformed and ultimately derivative. But in spite of being the less appealing second child of my reading, it has a special place in my heart. It is inexplicable but, I venture this opinion with an anticipatory grimace, it does not have an explanation. Some things just feel right, and if that’s a little too campy for you, dear reader, then consider doing it for a short time. Choose a favorite book and begin.

A final item was that I was generously nominated by Kevin Brennan for five awards in one. I do not feel up to the honor of his esteem. I am wary of awards that proliferate extraordinarily. It seems a little bit too… Well, I’m still looking for the right word there but for now I am only going to accept the good opinion of Kevin. Perhaps it is my skepticism, which can be too loud for its own good, but faceless awards do not fill me with any particular feeling.

7 thoughts on “I, Claudius and Other Tidbits

  1. Wonderful to see a Robert Graves tag. Not that I have read his popular work but his translations of The Golden Ass /Metamorphoses is particularly brilliant. Still not another compares.

  2. I love your word choice: “becoming” an attorney. Suggests some kind of rebirth. For the record, your blog quality isn’t suffering. I too am concerned about my blog losing a wee bit of steam – ironically b/c I need to write fiction for my MFA classes. Definitely the opposite of whatever side of the brain blogging uses. Keep ’em coming; I look forward to your posts.

  3. One of the joys of paper books is writing notes in the margin (and reading other people’s), I thought all educated people did this. you mean I was wrong? Horrors!

    It’s a shame to see still another mind wasted on a being a lawyer, still I suppose you’d like to make a living.

    You doing great with the blog, always interesting, often fun and challenging.

Leave a Reply

